Pikes Peak facts and figures
Elevations, prices, hours, distances and dates for Pikes Peak and the places around it, each one linked to where it was published and dated with the day it was checked.
The mountain
Planning guide: The mountain
Wikipedia lead, citing P. K. McPherson, "Elevation of Pikes Peak" (2019).
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pikes_Peak, fetched 2026-11-03
Wikipedia infobox, citing Ahlgren et al., Journal of Geodesy (2024).
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pikes_Peak, fetched 2026-11-03
Pikes Peak Highway
Planning guide: Pikes Peak Highway
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pikes_Peak, fetched 2026-11-03
Required past mile 7 of the Pikes Peak Highway, May 22 to September 30, 2026. Same-day permits are sold when space is available. Some annual passholders are exempt; see the city FAQ.
- coloradosprings.gov/node/163271, fetched 2026-11-03
- gazette.com/2026/04/01/timed-entry-permits-and-shuttle-tickets-for-pikes-peak-available, fetched 2026-11-03
Includes highway admission; no timed-entry permit needed.
- coloradosprings.gov/node/163271, fetched 2026-11-03
Official PDF 'Rate Structure and Hours of Operation', revision September 2026 (file dated 2026-09-26). Same on hours-rates page. 2027 rates not announced.
- drivepikespeak.b-cdn.net/app/uploads/2026/09/PPAM-Rate-Structure-and-Hours-of-Operation_2026_09_26-Web-Version.pdf, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/hours-rates, fetched 2026-11-03
Children 5 and under: no admission price listed on the pages fetched (shuttle page says free for 5 and under).
- drivepikespeak.b-cdn.net/app/uploads/2026/09/PPAM-Rate-Structure-and-Hours-of-Operation_2026_09_26-Web-Version.pdf, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/hours-rates, fetched 2026-11-03
Additional adults 13 USD each, additional children (6-15) 5 USD each.
- drivepikespeak.b-cdn.net/app/uploads/2026/09/PPAM-Rate-Structure-and-Hours-of-Operation_2026_09_26-Web-Version.pdf, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/hours-rates, fetched 2026-11-03
Only in the PDF; the HTML hours-rates page lists only the May 1 - Nov 30 table.
Not valid for special events (sunrise openings, sunset viewings, Hill Climb).
- drivepikespeak.com/tickets-reservations/drive-yourself, fetched 2026-11-03
- pikespeakcolorado.aluvii.com/store/shop/productdetails?id=1&productId=51, fetched 2026-11-03
PDF states 'Thursday before Memorial Day'. Hours-rates HTML says 'October 1 to May 27' (= Thursday before Memorial Day 2027).
- drivepikespeak.b-cdn.net/app/uploads/2026/09/PPAM-Rate-Structure-and-Hours-of-Operation_2026_09_26-Web-Version.pdf, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/hours-rates, fetched 2026-11-03
From PDF (Sept 2026 revision).
From PDF (Sept 2026 revision).
On 2026-11-03 the homepage widget showed 'Open to Crystal Reservoir (mi. 6)', uphill gate 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM, downhill gate 5:00 pm. Winter extras: tubing hill at mile 11.5 (10,600 ft) when snowy, ranger-led snowshoe hikes typically Saturdays in Feb-Mar, backcountry skiing access at Glen Cove (mile 13). Tubing hill opening dates/pricing: not published (page says 'check back soon').
- drivepikespeak.com, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/explore/winter-recreation, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/hours-rates, fetched 2026-11-03
Introduced because summit parking is limited. Not needed for bicycles or for the shuttle. Reschedule allowed via online account; cancel request 48 h ahead but no refunds.
- drivepikespeak.com/tickets-reservations/drive-yourself, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/faq, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.b-cdn.net/app/uploads/2026/09/PPAM-Rate-Structure-and-Hours-of-Operation_2026_09_26-Web-Version.pdf, fetched 2026-11-03
2026 dates confirmed by a city release quoted in the Gazette (page not retrievable in full): 'from May 22 through September 30, 2026'. PDF rule: 'Friday before Memorial Day to September 30'. After Sep 30 no reservation needed.
- drivepikespeak.com/tickets-reservations/drive-yourself, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.b-cdn.net/app/uploads/2026/09/PPAM-Rate-Structure-and-Hours-of-Operation_2026_09_26-Web-Version.pdf, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/location/summit, fetched 2026-11-03
Individual slot start times: not published (shown only in the ticket store after choosing a date). Permits released for the season no later than April 15. Up to 5 vehicles per reservation.
- drivepikespeak.com/tickets-reservations/drive-yourself, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/faq, fetched 2026-11-03
Summit parking courtesy limit: 2 hours. Same-day re-entry allowed but cannot drive to the summit again on the expired reservation.
- drivepikespeak.com/tickets-reservations/drive-yourself, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/faq, fetched 2026-11-03
Season 2026: daily from Friday before Memorial Day to Aug 9, then weekends and Labor Day to Sep 27; ended for 2026, 'will return in summer 2027'. Dates for 2027 not published.
Sunrise/sunset specials depart from the North Pole Santa's Workshop lot, 0.3 mi from the entrance. Drivers first pass the Gateway (tell the ranger you have shuttle tickets), then drive 7 miles up. Arrive at the Gateway at least 30 min before departure. Hikers cannot get a shuttle ride down.
- drivepikespeak.com/tickets-reservations/shuttle, fetched 2026-11-03
Visit Colorado Springs shows 5069 instead; use the official gateway page.
- drivepikespeak.com/location/gateway, fetched 2026-11-03
Mile numbers are the site's own 'Explore the Peak' markers (Gateway is labelled mile 3).
- drivepikespeak.com, fetched 2026-11-03
Speed limit 30 mph; uphill traffic has right of way; brake-temperature checks at Glen Cove in busy periods.
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/vehicle-restrictions, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/mountain-driving, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/location/summit, fetched 2026-11-03
Official 'Drive Yourself' page: 19-mile route; 38-mile round trip takes at least two hours. Summit at mile 19.
- drivepikespeak.com/tickets-reservations/drive-yourself, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/mountain-driving, fetched 2026-11-03
Staff update road info about 15 minutes before opening and as conditions change.
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/hours-rates, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/tickets-reservations/drive-yourself, fetched 2026-11-03
On 2026-11-03 it read: Now 19-20 deg, High 26, Low 17, Uphill gate 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM, Downhill gate 5:00 pm, Open to Crystal Reservoir (mi. 6).
- drivepikespeak.com, fetched 2026-11-03
No machine-readable 'last updated' timestamp for the 'Open to' value was found. HTTP Last-Modified on the homepage was 2026-11-03 08:31:45 GMT with cache-control max-age=0.
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/hours-rates, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/hours-rates, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/tickets-reservations/drive-yourself, fetched 2026-11-03
On 2026-11-03 the page said images were not loading ('Image unavailable'); the image URLs returned nothing when requested directly. Reuse/hotlink rights: not published, would need the City's permission.
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/camera-feeds, fetched 2026-11-03
Cog Railway
Planning guide: Cog Railway
Local TV coverage of the 2021 reopening calls it a nine-mile journey to 14,115 feet.
Closed for repairs in 2017; runs seven days a week when conditions permit.
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pikes_Peak, fetched 2026-11-03
Manitou Springs sits at 6,320 ft; summit 14,115 ft; 9-mile route.
- cograilway.com/about-us/faq, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/ride/the-route, fetched 2026-11-03
'Starting at' price, taxes and additional fees apply. Page fetched 2026-11-03 (copyright 2026); season of the price not stated.
- cograilway.com/ride/rates, fetched 2026-11-03
Child age range is not defined on cograilway.com pages fetched. VisitCOS (city tourism bureau) lists 'Ages 12 and under' for the same 57 USD child fare.
- cograilway.com/ride/rates, fetched 2026-11-03
- visitcos.com/pikes-peak-cog-railway-%E2%80%93-ride-pikes-peak-train, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/ride/rates, fetched 2026-11-03
Subject to availability at the Depot.
- cograilway.com/ride/rates, fetched 2026-11-03
Third-party Travelocity text claims under-2 free; no official confirmation found. Not recommended for infants under six months or anyone with cardiac or respiratory history. Strollers and baby carriers not allowed on the train.
- cograilway.com/about-us/faq, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/ride/rates, fetched 2026-11-03
Summer: daily, departures about every 40 minutes. Fall and winter: condensed schedule shown on the Purchase Tickets page (dynamic, not fetched). Severe weather or excessive snow may stop the train short of the summit; no weather refund if the train reaches the summit. A Viator reviewer (search snippet) reports snow stopped a train at about 12,000 ft; unverified.
- cograilway.com/about-us/faq, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/the-new-experience/know-before-you-go, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/ride/schedule, fetched 2026-11-03
Home page says 3.5 hour round trip; arrive 30 minutes before departure, boarding starts 20 min before and passengers must be seated 10 min before.
- cograilway.com/about-us/faq, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/ride/schedule, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/ticket-purchase-terms, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/the-new-experience/know-before-you-go, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/ride/purchase-tickets, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/ride/rates, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/about-us/faq, fetched 2026-11-03
Parking in the railway lot is for riders only, not for hiking (Incline or Barr Trail).
- cograilway.com/about-us/faq, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/ticket-purchase-terms, fetched 2026-11-03
No restrooms on the train (restrooms at the Depot and at the summit). Not allowed on board: pets (service animals per policy), bikes, scooters, strollers, outside food.
- cograilway.com/about-us/faq, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/location/summit, fetched 2026-11-03
Hikers up Barr Trail cannot count on a ride down.
- cograilway.com/about-us/faq, fetched 2026-11-03
Summit Visitor Center
Planning guide: Summit Visitor Center
Cog Railway says it 'debuted in 2021' with the new facility (cashless).
- drivepikespeak.com/location/summit, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/ride/the-route, fetched 2026-11-03
Built to the Living Building Challenge standard. Cog Railway says the center is cashless; highway site does not state this.
- drivepikespeak.com/location/summit, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/the-new-experience/pikes-peak-visitor-center, fetched 2026-11-03
Site also says 'no time limit' at the top; shuttle riders have no fixed time limits.
- drivepikespeak.b-cdn.net/app/uploads/2026/09/PPAM-Rate-Structure-and-Hours-of-Operation_2026_09_26-Web-Version.pdf, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/location/summit, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/tickets-reservations/drive-yourself, fetched 2026-11-03
Barr Trail and Barr Camp
Planning guide: Barr Trail and Barr Camp
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barr_Trail, fetched 2026-11-03
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barr_Trail, fetched 2026-11-03
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barr_Trail, fetched 2026-11-03
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barr_Trail, fetched 2026-11-03
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barr_Trail, fetched 2026-11-03
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barr_Trail, fetched 2026-11-03
Derived: race uses an offset of about 1.1 mi (Barr Camp 7.6 mi in race vs 6.5 mi per Barr Camp). Other sites give 3 to 3.5 mi. Treat as approximate.
- pikespeakmarathon.org/course-info.html, fetched 2026-11-03
- barrcamp.com/about-us, fetched 2026-11-03
Wikipedia: mile 6.3, 10,186 ft. Race table: 7.6 mi, 10,200 ft from City Hall. pikespeak.us.com says 6.8 mi (2020 article).
- barrcamp.com/about-us, fetched 2026-11-03
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barr_Trail, fetched 2026-11-03
- pikespeakmarathon.org/course-info.html, fetched 2026-11-03
- pikespeak.us.com/?p=2424, fetched 2026-11-03
Wikipedia: mile 9, 12,098 ft ('Timberline A-frame shelter'). Race: 10.2 mi from City Hall, 12,000 ft. Other sites quote about 11,750 ft; treat the elevation as approximate.
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barr_Trail, fetched 2026-11-03
- pikespeakmarathon.org/course-info.html, fetched 2026-11-03
Rates 'subject to change based on date of booking'. Rates page text lost its row labels in extraction; tent and cabin amounts are matched by the order on the page and by the accommodation pages. Spaghetti dinner optional extra; pancake breakfast included.
- barrcamp.com/about-us, fetched 2026-11-03
- barrcamp.com/ratesandpolicies, fetched 2026-11-03
- barrcamp.com/bunkhouse, fetched 2026-11-03
- barrcamp.com/leantos, fetched 2026-11-03
Bring your own sleeping bag; camp about 15-20 deg F colder than town; accommodations unheated except caretaker cabin; no electricity; card payments accepted; water filter rental 5 USD.
- barrcamp.com/about-us, fetched 2026-11-03
- barrcamp.com/ratesandpolicies, fetched 2026-11-03
- barrcamp.com, fetched 2026-11-03
Staffed year-round by caretakers.
- barrcamp.com/day-use, fetched 2026-11-03
- barrcamp.com/about-us, fetched 2026-11-03
- pikespeakmarathon.org/course-info.html, fetched 2026-11-03
Manitou Incline
Planning guide: Manitou Incline
City page: 'Gaining 2,000 feet of elevation in less than a mile via 2,768 steep steps'. Wikipedia notes counts vary (2,744 as of Sept 2025).
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manitou_Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
Wikipedia only; no official city figure found; Wikipedia contradicts itself on the base.
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manitou_Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
Reservation is described as a forecasting tool, 'not a ticketing system, attendants do not check reservations on-site'. Window: 30-minute arrival slot, no time limit to finish. Reservations open the 1st of each month for the next month, up to 8 weeks ahead. Maximum party 8. No dogs.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
Iron Springs Chateau lot 15 USD per car for 4 hours, cash only; Dillon Mobility Hub (134 Manitou Ave, 91 spaces, 5 am - 6 pm) preferred; Hiawatha Gardens (The Duck Stop) with free Incline shuttle 6 am - 6 pm. A KKTV item (search snippet, March 2026) mentions Manitou Springs exploring paid reservations/parking; not confirmed.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
City page says 'do not climb down the Manitou Incline (use alternate trails)'.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manitou_Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
Route 33 Manitou Springs shuttle was zero fare March 29 - Oct 24, 2026 (past); Route 3 fare-free pilot as of March 2026. Winter 2026-27 fares: not published.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
- cograilway.com/about-us/faq, fetched 2026-11-03
Link taken from the city page; the store page itself was not opened.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
Wikipedia.
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manitou_Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
City page: 'Gaining 2,000 feet of elevation in less than a mile via 2,768 steep steps'. Manitou Springs gives the same count. Wikipedia: the top step is numbered 2768 and the count changes with maintenance (2,744 as of September 2025). The live manitouspringsco.gov page refused automated fetches (Cloudflare block) on 2026-11-03; the source is the Internet Archive copy dated in its URL, fetched 2026-11-03.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
- web.archive.org/web/20261009231513/https://www.manitouspringsco.gov/585/Manitou-Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manitou_Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
Wikipedia: gains 2,011 ft in 0.88 miles horizontal. The city says less than a mile.
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manitou_Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
Wikipedia figure. The city and Manitou Springs round it to 2,000 ft.
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manitou_Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
Wikipedia: tie-in to the Barr Trail at the top, descent approximately 2.79 miles with a much gentler slope. Visit Colorado Springs says 'the bottom four miles of the Barr Trail'; not used.
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manitou_Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
Visit Colorado Springs (the regional tourism bureau): 'The average hiker completes the Manitou Incline hike in about 1-2 hours.' The page does not say whether the descent is included; this site reads it as the climb. No city figure found.
City: 45 reservations per half hour in both seasons; the 30-minute slot is only the arrival window, with no time limit to finish. Visit Colorado Springs still lists an older tiered schedule (65/45/25); not used.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
City FAQ: 'On the 1st of every month, the following month's reservations are open and available, along with the current month' and 'up to 8 weeks in advance'. Manitou Springs: 'Reservations open on the first of each month for the current and following month.' Release time of day is not published. The live manitouspringsco.gov page refused automated fetches (Cloudflare block) on 2026-11-03; the source is the Internet Archive copy dated in its URL, fetched 2026-11-03.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
- web.archive.org/web/20261009231513/https://www.manitouspringsco.gov/585/Manitou-Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
City FAQ: 'no further action is required' to cancel; behind schedule: 'Take your time and arrive safely'; no reservations left: 'No. In order to hike the Incline, a reservation is required.'
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
City FAQ: 'We do not allow parties larger than 8 people.'
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
Incline Friends (volunteer partner of the city): hours are subject to change due to weather, construction or repair and city-specified closings. Manitou Springs advises micro-spikes or traction devices for icy conditions. The live manitouspringsco.gov page refused automated fetches (Cloudflare block) on 2026-11-03; the source is the Internet Archive copy dated in its URL, fetched 2026-11-03.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
- inclinefriends.org, fetched 2026-11-03
- web.archive.org/web/20261009231513/https://www.manitouspringsco.gov/585/Manitou-Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
City: bring plenty of water, snacks and sunscreen, hydrate the evening before, sturdy hiking boots or tennis shoes, no trash receptacles on the Incline (pack it out). Manitou Springs: no water on the trail, moisture-wicking layers, gloves and windproof jacket in cooler months, micro-spikes in winter, hiking poles recommended for the Barr Trail descent. The live manitouspringsco.gov page refused automated fetches (Cloudflare block) on 2026-11-03; the source is the Internet Archive copy dated in its URL, fetched 2026-11-03.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
- web.archive.org/web/20261009231513/https://www.manitouspringsco.gov/585/Manitou-Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
City, Be Prepared section. The city recommends the trail for physically active people adjusted to the elevation.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
City Rules section.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
Wikipedia: the two Ute Pass connectors were added in 2020; the Barr Trail bailout is about 500 steps above step 1300; steepest just after it for about 200 ft to the false summit. City: tie 396 leads 1/3 mile back to the trailhead, tie 1300 leads 1.5 miles back.
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manitou_Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
Wikipedia, Hiking trail section.
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manitou_Incline, fetched 2026-11-03
Manitou Springs rate table (Internet Archive copy of 2026-03-05): 0 to 2 hours FREE, 3 hours 3.00 USD, 4 hours 6.00 USD, each hour after +3.00 USD, paid parking 5 a.m. to 6 p.m., plus a 0.40 USD Honk processing fee; the same table lists 86 spaces. Live rates are on Honk. The live page refused automated fetches on 2026-11-03.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
- web.archive.org/web/20260305134746/https://www.manitouspringsco.gov/567/Parking-Locations, fetched 2026-11-03
City Parking tab. Rates for Hiawatha Gardens are on the Manitou Springs site (not checked). The city adds you can walk from the lot instead of waiting.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
City Parking tab; closures are posted on the lot's Facebook page.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
City Parking tab. Route 33 is listed as 'Zero fare, effective March 29, 2026 through October 24, 2026'; the fare after that date is not on the page. The Mountain Metro shuttle page refused automated fetches on 2026-11-03.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
City Parking tab. Barr Lot and the Cog Railway lot are not for Incline hikers.
- coloradosprings.gov/manitouincline, fetched 2026-11-03
Garden of the Gods
Planning guide: Garden of the Gods
National Natural Landmark, city park, not a state or national park.
- gardenofgods.com, fetched 2026-11-03
- gardenofgods.com/park-info/get-directions, fetched 2026-11-03
The home page banner on 2026-11-03 showed '5 am - 9 pm' on one page and '5 am - 10 pm' on another (stale banner); use the dated table on the directions page.
- gardenofgods.com/park-info/get-directions, fetched 2026-11-03
- gardenofgods.com/park-info, fetched 2026-11-03
Center has exhibits, Geo Trekker movie theatre, Gateway Cafe, gift shop, information desk. Address 1805 N. 30th Street, Colorado Springs CO 80904; phone 719-634-6666.
- gardenofgods.com/park-info/get-directions, fetched 2026-11-03
- gardenofgods.com/visit-garden-of-the-gods-colorado-springs, fetched 2026-11-03
2026 season has ended; 2027 dates not published. Visitor Center lot has fewer than 200 spaces.
- gardenofgods.com/free-summer-shuttle, fetched 2026-11-03
- gardenofgods.com/park-info/get-directions, fetched 2026-11-03
Official park site: 'an easy, 1.5 mile roundtrip path, with less than a 30-foot rise', in the heart of the park at the base of the highest rock formations. Surface: COTREX (Colorado DNR and Parks and Wildlife): 'paved with concrete and is easy for all ages and abilities', marked wheelchair friendly (its mapped featured route measures 1.1 mi). Visit Colorado Springs: paved, accessible for wheelchairs, mobility equipment and strollers. Wikipedia: starts at the North Parking lot off Juniper Way Loop.
- gardenofgods.com/activities/hiking-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
- trails.colorado.gov/routes/126, fetched 2026-11-03
- visitcos.com/things-to-do/garden-of-the-gods-park/garden-of-the-gods-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garden_of_the_Gods, fetched 2026-11-03
Official park site: 'A moderate, 1/2 mile loop, with less than a 100-foot rise'. Surface (Visit Colorado Springs): rocky, uneven gravel with stairs in some sections; leads to the foot of the Sleeping Giant formation.
- gardenofgods.com/activities/hiking-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
- visitcos.com/things-to-do/garden-of-the-gods-park/garden-of-the-gods-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
Official park site: 'an easy 1-mile roundtrip, with less than a 150-foot rise', with a view of Pikes Peak through the natural window of the twins. Surface (Visit Colorado Springs): mostly gravel, narrow in places, some stairs.
- gardenofgods.com/activities/hiking-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
- visitcos.com/things-to-do/garden-of-the-gods-park/garden-of-the-gods-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
Official park site: an easy, low-grade 2.5-mile hike from the naturally surfaced Overflow Parking Lot at the main entrance along the paved Foothills Trail and paved Gateway Trail, across the road to the Central Garden Trail (1.5 miles of loops there) and back. Visit Colorado Springs: wide and paved, some stair sections you do not have to climb.
- gardenofgods.com/activities/hiking-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
- visitcos.com/things-to-do/garden-of-the-gods-park/garden-of-the-gods-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
Visit Colorado Springs only (not on the park site): moderate, 1.2 miles, 137 ft of gain, about half an hour; rocky, uneven gravel and dirt, often narrow and steep. Park rules: Parking Lot 16 is near Balanced Rock and the Trading Post. Wikipedia: Balanced Rock is a popular spot for photography.
- visitcos.com/things-to-do/garden-of-the-gods-park/garden-of-the-gods-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
- gardenofgods.com/park-info/park-rules, fetched 2026-11-03
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garden_of_the_Gods, fetched 2026-11-03
Official park site: a moderate trail that loops through the park with distant views of the Central Garden from rolling, rocky trails (no length given). Visit Colorado Springs: 2 miles, sandy and rocky surface.
- gardenofgods.com/activities/hiking-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
- visitcos.com/things-to-do/garden-of-the-gods-park/garden-of-the-gods-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
Visit Colorado Springs: moderate, 2.5 miles, less than 250 ft of gain, circles nearly the entire park; mostly gravel with uneven, narrow sections; shared with mountain bikes and horses.
- visitcos.com/things-to-do/garden-of-the-gods-park/garden-of-the-gods-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
Official park site: '22+ miles of trails', beginner to advanced, paved and dirt. Visit Colorado Springs and Wikipedia: 21 miles.
- gardenofgods.com/activities/hiking-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
- visitcos.com/things-to-do/garden-of-the-gods-park/garden-of-the-gods-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garden_of_the_Gods, fetched 2026-11-03
Official hiking page.
- gardenofgods.com/activities/hiking-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
Official hiking page.
- gardenofgods.com/activities/hiking-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
Official directions page. Oversized vehicles drop off at the Visitor Center lot and park on the outer edge of the overflow lot. The shuttle page suggests parking in the lot across the street and riding the shuttle or walking through the tunnel. No official time of day when the lot fills was found.
- gardenofgods.com/park-info/get-directions, fetched 2026-11-03
- gardenofgods.com/free-summer-shuttle, fetched 2026-11-03
City project page: about 3,200 square feet of asphalt replaced for accessible parking nearer the Central Garden; concrete path from Lot #4 replaced and excessive slopes corrected.
- coloradosprings.gov/GOGWaterlineProject, fetched 2026-11-03
Official park rules: rock scrambling (more than 10 ft up without equipment) is illegal; no rappelling for sport; no chalk or substitutes; do not climb wet sandstone; seasonal route closures are signed; everyone at the base must be a permitted climber; leave pets at home.
- gardenofgods.com/park-info/park-rules, fetched 2026-11-03
Official park rules: bags at the Visitor & Nature Center pet area; well-behaved pets allowed inside the center except the indoor dining and carpeted areas.
- gardenofgods.com/park-info/park-rules, fetched 2026-11-03
Official park rules, Bike Rules. Mountain bike trails are shared with horses and hikers.
- gardenofgods.com/park-info/park-rules, fetched 2026-11-03
Official park rules. Parking Lot 1 (Overflow) and Lot 16 (near Balanced Rock and the Trading Post) are the only lots built for large vehicles and trailers.
- gardenofgods.com/park-info/park-rules, fetched 2026-11-03
City of Colorado Springs project page: 'the most visited attraction in the Pikes Peak Region' with approximately 4.5 million visitors a year. The park site says over 4 million; Wikipedia says more than two million.
- coloradosprings.gov/GOGWaterlineProject, fetched 2026-11-03
- gardenofgods.com/activities/hiking-trails, fetched 2026-11-03
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garden_of_the_Gods, fetched 2026-11-03
Pikes Peak International Hill Climb
Planning guide: Pikes Peak International Hill Climb
Announced by PPIHC on July 9, 2026.
- ppihc.org/save-the-date-race-to-the-clouds-set-for-june-27-2027, fetched 2026-11-03
Competitor applications, volunteer registration and race-week details still to be announced.
- ppihc.org/save-the-date-race-to-the-clouds-set-for-june-27-2027, fetched 2026-11-03
- ppihc.org/save-the-date-race-to-the-clouds-set-for-june-27-2027, fetched 2026-11-03
Past season, for reference.
- ppihc.org/2026-pikes-peak-hill-climb-competitors-announced, fetched 2026-11-03
- pikespeakcolorado.aluvii.com/store/shop/productdetails?id=1&productId=51, fetched 2026-11-03
- ppihc.org/save-the-date-race-to-the-clouds-set-for-june-27-2027, fetched 2026-11-03
CONFLICT: the 2027 race is the fourth Sunday (June 27). Treat the rule as 'closed on Hill Climb race day', not a weekday rule. Also, shuttle dates for 2026 skipped June 20 and 21 (race weekend).
- drivepikespeak.com/visit/hours-rates, fetched 2026-11-03
- drivepikespeak.com/tickets-reservations/drive-yourself, fetched 2026-11-03
- pikespeakcolorado.aluvii.com/store/shop/productdetails?id=1&productId=51, fetched 2026-11-03
- ppihc.org/save-the-date-race-to-the-clouds-set-for-june-27-2027, fetched 2026-11-03
A City notice (2025 notice; the page was not retrievable in full) said uphill traffic was held until 8:30 am on practice days. PPIHC FAQ page is partly stale (2024/2025 dates) so those practice prices are past-season.
- ppihc.org/faqs, fetched 2026-11-03
Past season (2024) notice on the FAQ page.
- ppihc.org/faqs, fetched 2026-11-03
Open data
Both files are generated from the same data as this page and are updated with it.
- pikes-peak-facts.json
- All 122 facts with section, label, value, unit, note and every source with its fetch date. The figures belong to their sources; the compilation is CC BY 4.0. Credit pikespeak.info with a link to https://pikespeak.info/pikes-peak-facts/.
- barr-trail-profile.csv
- Barr Trail elevation profile, 120 points from 6,676 ft at the trailhead to 14,082 ft at the summit, with a measured climb of 7,412 ft. Columns: point, trail_mi, osm_mi, lat, lon, elevation_ft, elevation_m. Distances along the OpenStreetMap line (11.84 mi) are stretched to the published one-way length of 13 mi in trail_mi; elevations are unchanged. Geometry © OpenStreetMap contributors, ODbL 1.0. Elevations: USGS 3DEP, public domain. The profile is drawn on the Barr Trail hike time calculator.
Facts on this page last checked 2026-11-03 by the pikespeak.info editor. Rules and prices change; confirm with the operator before you travel. See every figure with its source.